Primary Election Held Tuesday

The Minnesota primary will take place Tuesday, August 11,  and Wayzata voters will have a variety of choices to make.

Some of those choices include: U.S. Senate, U.S. Third Congressional District, and Hennepin County Commissioner.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Below is a link to a sample primary ballot for Wayzata residents.

Filing for the Wayzata mayor and two council seats ends Tuesday, August 11.

So far, Wayzata city council member Johanna McCarthy is the lone candidate for mayor. Current mayor, Ken Willcox, announced in July that he would not seek a fourth term.

Meanwhile, Wayzata Planning Commissioners Cathy Iverson and Jeffrey Parkhill announced they are running for city council. Current city council members Dan Koch and Alex Plechash are up for re-election.

The mayoral and city council seats are four-year terms.

Read more about the candidates Wayzata residents will chose in the 2020 election here:


Below is a list of city council election results since 2000.
Source: Minnesota Secretary of State/City of Wayzata
(* = winner)


*Barry Petit 1,194 (votes)
Sue Bangert 1,129
City Council (two seats)

*Robert (Bob) Ambrose 1,372
*Robyn Cook 1,190
Lynn Gruber 1,020

City Council (two seats)

*Andrew Humphrey 1,028
*Sue Bangert 1022
Barry Birkholz 763
Gayle Wilson 677


*Andrew Humphrey 1,989 (unopposed)
City Council (two seats)
*Ken Willcox 1,244
*John Berns 1,211

Jim Gooley 933


City Council (two seats)

*Sue Bangert 1,126
*Jack Amdal 758
Tom Tanner 695
Doug Hudson 539



*Ken Willcox 1,803 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Andrew Mullin 1,210
*Mary Bader 1,196
Tom Tanner 948


City Council (two seats)

*Tom Tanner 898
*Jack Amdal 861
Jim Wilson 749



*Ken Willcox 1,842 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Andrew Mullin (re elected) 1261
*Bridget Anderson 1079
Alex Plechash 1076


City Council (two seats)

*Steven Tyacke 865
*Johanna McCarthy 799
Alex Plechash 789
Jack Amdal 730



*Ken Willcox 2,226 (unopposed)

City Council (two seats)

*Dan Koch 1,718 (unopposed)
*Alex Plechash 1,715 (unopposed)


City Council (two seats)

*Johanna McCarthy ,1337
*Jeff Buchanan 1,028
Cathy Iverson 956
Barry Petit 821

Leave a Reply

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get full access.

Continue Reading

Daniel Gustafson & Elisha Gustafson Realtors