Iverson & Plechash Win Wayzata City Council Race, Incumbents Retain State, National Seats

 While much is still undecided at the national level of the 2020 election, we know how things shook out closer to home.

Cathy Iverson & Alex Plechash


Wayzata City Council

Wayzata Planning Commissioner Cathy Iverson and current Wayzata City Councilmember Alex Plechash came out on top of a four-candidate race Tuesday.

Iverson received 1,416 votes (31.38%) while Plechash was re-elected with 1,133 votes. (25.11%).

Another planning commissioner, Jeff Parkhill, gathered 993 votes (22.01%).

Meanwhile, current City Councilmember Dan Koch finished fourth with 925 votes (20.50%).

Current City Councilmember Johanna McCarthy won her bid for mayor. She ran unopposed.

Minnesota Senate District 33

Republican incumbent Sen. David Osmek retains his Minnesota Senate District 33 seat with win over Democratic challenger Gretchen Piper. Osmek had 53.98% of the vote. Piper had 45.96%.

Minnesota House District 33A

Republican incumbent Rep. Jerry Hertaus has defeated Democratic challenger Caitlin Cahill to retain Minnesota House District 33A. Hertaus had 58.06% of the vote while Cahill had 41.90%.

U.S. Congressional District 3

Incumbent Democratic Rep. Dean Phillips has defeated Republican challenger Kendall Qualls in the U.S. House District 3. Phillips had 55.58% of the vote while Qualls had 44.35%.

Hennepin County Commissioner District 6

Chris LaTondresse will replace Hennepin County Commissioner Jan Callison with win over Dario Anselmo. LaTondresse won with 52.55% of the vote.

%d bloggers like this: